SSDieselSupply.com
SSDPro-Exhaust.com

Thread: transmission

Default transmission

My truck has just under 190,000 miles. I understand that most 1/2 ton 6.5 transmissions get replaced by now. I love my truck but she ain't very pretty and I am not a mechanic. Ballpark, how much am I looking at spending to have someone rebuild or replace the transmission on this 1997 truck? Thanks.
    1997 Silverado 1500 6.5. with 185,000 miles. New fuel injection pump at 132,000 mi. FSD Heat-Sync in bumper hole, marine fuel injectors, air induction kit all from Walt at 148,000 mi. Replaced OEM Fuel Filter Assy, wastegate solenoid valve, OPS and relay at 155,000 mi. Harmonic Balancer replaced. Red dot and White dot EGR replaced. New starter, Instant Heat glow plugs, and glow plug relay/controller at 180,000. Replaced hydroboost and master cylinder in 2016.

I have heard that they run $1500.00 plus.
    If it is a 4L80E it will probably be more.
    If Your trans is not acting up then just keep the filter and fluid changed and drive it.
    2000 Chevrolet K3500 crew cab and long box, auto trans
    Relocated PMD W no. 9 resistor, gauge tower, boost, Pyro and trans temp. enhanced shift controller.
    Home made aeroquip oil cooler hoses.
    Added on Glow Plug Relay with manual push button along with the factory GP controller.
    3-1/2" exhaust with 4" tip. Straight through, no muffler and not too loud at all.

Agree with MrMarty, service as usual. I found out recently the difference between rebuilt and reman. Have yours rebuilt if you need. Reman may be junk i.e. rebuilt to the lowest standard in a different state. For almost the same cost.
    Mike
    1994 K2500 Suburban 316,000 mi., F VIN, 4L80E, 3.73 w/posi., 3" turbo back, no cat, FSD Heat Sync, #9 resistor, SSD heads, SSD intake, fuel miser injectors, Bastard IP (5068), 4x4 posi, Cooling upgrade w/duel 180 t-stats and d-max fan

OK, thanks for the help.